Fresh New Tunes: Hot Chip, New Build, and Cults

I had been getting bored with my music collection and I was having trouble finding some new tunes to shake things up. Fortunately Spotify has made it much easier for myself and everyone else in the US to stay on top of new tunes. Here are a couple of new albums that I have been really into lately. I’m always on the look out for fresh new tunes so if you have anything that you have been really into lately, please leave a comment with recommendations. New tunes don’t actually have to be brand new-if I haven’t heard it, it is new to me!

Hot Chip – In Our Heads:

If you are already into Hot Chip, it is safe to assume that you will like their new album. Their newest album, In Our Heads, is a little more up beat and high energy than their past albums, but it stays true to their style. These guys are quickly becoming international superstars because they have a sound that is well received by music enthusiasts of many different genres. I’m really excited for their upcoming show at Prospect Park in Brooklyn. I was surprised to learn how many of my friends already have tickets for this show. The wide range of people who I know going to the show exemplifies how their sound appeals to a diverse group of music listeners. At lot of people I have been talking to about the show weren’t aware of their new album so I figured it couldn’t hurt to get the word out that is certainly worth giving a listen.

New Build – Yesterday was Lived and Lost:

New Build is made up of Al Doyle (Hot Chip and LCD Soundsystem), Felix Martin (Hot Chip), and studio engineer Tom Hopkins. The resumes of the members of New Build peaked my interest when I saw the group announced their first show at Mercury Lounge shortly after the break-up of LCD Soundsystem. I tried to get tickets for the show, but it sold out instantly. I recently came across their new album on Spotify, and I have been enjoying it on a regular basis ever since. If you are a fan of LCD Soundsystem,Hot Chip, and/or the indie electronic genre in general, I’d recommend that you check out their album. It is an easy listen and a lot of fun.

Cults – Cults:

This album was actually released in 2011, but I only got into recently so in my book I still count it as fresh new tunes. This album is a piece of indie brilliance. Like with most indie albums, I’m sure that I will play it out and move on from it eventually; however, I haven’t been able to stop listening to it for the last couple of months. I’ve gotten a lot of people with wide ranges of tastes in music into this album so no matter what you are into you might like this. The core duo behind the Cults is made up of vocalist Madeline Follin and guitarist Brian Oblivion. Madeline’s unique vocals help set this album apart from the pack. I’d recommend this album to just about anyone. If you happend to catch their set at The Governors Ball this summer or any of their other sets I’d love to hear some feedback on their live show. Hopefully they will be making another trip to NYC in the near future.

Leave a Reply

